new line 2

Sébastien Ogier Claims Historic Win


Sébastien Ogier took the victory, breaking the record for the most wins at the Rally de Portugal. This triumph marked his sixth win, surpassing the legendary Markku Alen. Despite not winning the Power Stage, Ogier’s consistent performance throughout the rally ensured his spot at the top, finishing with a time of 3:41:32.3 seconds.

Ott Tänak’s Strong Finish
Ott Tänak finished close behind Ogier, only 7.9 seconds adrift. Tänak displayed exceptional pace and resilience, particularly recovering well from a puncture on Saturday that cost him valuable time. His efforts on Sunday paid off as he secured the highest points in the Power Stage, adding to his strong overall finish.

Thierry Neuville Takes Power Stage and Podium
Thierry Neuville not only secured a podium finish but also clinched the Wolf Power Stage, showcasing his speed and earning additional championship points. Finishing third overall, Neuville was 1 minute and 9.8 seconds behind Ogier, his performance a significant contribution to Hyundai’s points tally.

Hyundai and Toyota’s Intense Manufacturer Battle
In the manufacturers’ standings, Hyundai Shell Mobis World Rally Team leads with 219 points, closely followed by Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT at 215 points. M-Sport Ford World Rally Team stands third with 116 points, highlighting a competitive season.

Updated Championship Standings
Thierry Neuville leads the drivers’ championship with 110 points, followed by Elfyn Evans at 86 and Ott Tänak at 79. The close points suggest a tight battle ahead for the championship.

The rally’s conclusion sets a thrilling stage for the upcoming Rally Italia Sardinia, promising more action and strategic driving as the WRC season progresses. Fans and teams alike are gearing up for another challenging event at the end of May, continuing the high-speed drama of the World Rally Championship.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.